0 0 Share PDF

How do I cancel or downgrade my Docker subscription?

Article ID: KB000293

Issue

You may cancel your private repository subscription on Docker Hub or Docker Cloud.

Note: Before canceling your private repository subscription, please ensure that your private repositories are either changed to public visibility or deleted beforehand. Every user account is entitled to one free private repository - not applicable for organization accounts.

Resolution

Via Docker Hub

  1. Log in to your Docker Hub account.
  2. For a user account, navigate to your Settings in the dropdown menu under your username (at the top-right corner) and then, select on the Billing & Plans tab. For an organization account, select the organization account in the dropdown (at the top-left corner) and then, click on the Billing tab.
  3. Click on Downgrade Plan for the new plan you wish to change to. If you wish to cancel the subscription, please ensure that the "Free" plan is selected.
  4. Click on Confirm.

To confirm your subscription has been cancelled, you should see a new invoice (which reflects the new changes) generated and available for download in the Invoice section of the same page.

Via Docker Cloud

  1. Log in to your Docker Cloud account.
  2. Ensure that you have selected the correct account by checking the username on the top-right corner of the page.
  3. Navigate to your Cloud Settings located on the left side menu of the UI.
  4. Select on Plan > Change plan.
  5. Drag the slider according to the new plan you wish to change to. If you wish to cancel the subscription, please ensure that the "$0/month" plan is selected.
  6. Click on Select > Subscribe.

To confirm your subscription has been cancelled, you should see a new invoice (which reflects the new changes) generated and available for download in the Invoice history section.

Docker Cloud Node Hours Subscription

If you have a Docker Cloud subscription for node hours, you can cancel it by terminating your nodes through the Docker Cloud UI. Terminating your nodes directly through your cloud service providers (such as AWS or Digital Ocean) would result in your nodes becoming 'Unreachable' and your account still being billed for node hours usage.

You can follow these steps to cancel your Docker Cloud node hours subscription:

  1. Log in to your Docker Cloud account.
  2. Ensure that you have selected the correct account by checking the username on the top-right corner of the page.
  3. Navigate to your Nodes located on the left side menu of the UI.
  4. Ensure that you have no more than one node deployed to avoid being charged for node hours. You can terminate the nodes by selecting the checkboxes > Actions > Terminate.

If you wish to have your billing information removed as well, please open a support case with your request and provide/confirm the following information:

  • Name of the user account or organization with the subscription plan
  • Be sure to open the ticket from an authorized billing contact
    • Email address on the support ticket has to correspond with the user account
    • User account needs to be an owner account of organization (if requesting cancelling/downgrade of subscription on an organization)
    • Email address on support ticket is also listed within the billing information

Docker Datacenter/Enterprise Edition (EE) Subscription

You can follow these steps to cancel your Docker Datacenter/Enterprise Edition (EE) subscription:

  1. Log into your Docker Store account.
  2. Click on your username at the top-right corner > My Content.
  3. Ensure that you have selected the correct account under the "Account" field.
  4. For the Docker Datacenter/Enterprise Edition (EE) subscription you wish to cancel, click on Actions > Cancel Subscription.

Errors

Docker is aware and actively working on an issue that occasionally prevents users from cancelling/downgrading subscription plans.

As a workaround, Docker Support can cancel the subscription on your behalf. In order to help streamline this process, we ask users to open a support case providing/confirming the following information:

  • Name of the user account or organization with the subscription plan
  • Be sure to open the ticket from an authorized billing contact
    • Email address on the support ticket has to correspond with the user account
    • User account needs to be an owner account of organization (if requesting cancelling/downgrade of subscription on an organization)
    • Email address on support ticket is also listed within the billing information
  • If downgrading subscription plans, please let us know which plan you would like to downgrade to

After receiving this information Docker Support will be able to process your request in a timely manner.

Note: Upon cancelling a subscription plan, any private repositories will become locked, disabling pushing or pulling.